Packrafting Race

4th Annual McCarthy Creek Packraft Race

July 16, 2016

Registration coming soon!


Thanks to our sponsors!

Final-Alpacka-logo-yellow-original_225  AMH  WMAlogo new-logo MRTO



Up & Over Course Info:

Grand Prize:  Alpacka Bucks towards anything Alpacka makes!  Amount to be announced soon!  New For 2016 will be both Men’s and Women’s division.

Difficulty: Advanced

Hiking & Elevation Gain/Loss:  6.5 miles; +3,200’/-2,750′; off-trail route finding skills needed

Packrafting section:  10.5 miles; Class III+ (water level dependent), mandatory portage

Entry Fee:  $75/person


Z Rock Down Course Info:

Grand Prize:  2 for 1 Drop-off at Glacier Creek from Wrangell Mountain Air!

Difficulty: Moderate

Hiking & Elevation Gain/Loss:  5 miles; +735’/-255′; Trail hiking

Packrafting section:  5 miles; Class III (water level dependent)

Entry Fee:  $50/person


Check out Luc Mehl’s Race video from the 2014 race.  More photos and videos from other years coming soon!

Race Video

For full race day details and schedule of events, click the button below:

Full Race Info


KWG requires each participant have the following equipment:

River Worthy Packraft

1 or 2 Piece Drysuit


PFD (Type III or IV)


Post Race Awards and Party at The New Golden Saloon

Music from Melissa Mitchell & The Hope Social Club!

8pm until late

LOGO McCarthy Golden Saloon


Don’t miss the other McCarthy Whitewater Festival Events from July 15 – 17.  Click below for full festival event schedule:

Festival Info

Here’s 2014 results! Will the records be broken again…?  2015 results will be published soon!  And yes, the record was broken once again in 2015.

2014 McCarthy Creek Packraft Race Participants

Up & Over: Cliff Wilson- Anchorage AK, Jerry Little- Chugiak AK, Ryan Rupert-Anchorage AK, Sean Gerhardt- Anchorage AK, Jules Hanna- Portland OR, Brian Hasebe- Spokane WA, Killian Sump- Anchorage AK, Mike Loso- McCarthy AK, Kyle Myers- McCarthy AK, Stephen Schmidt- Santa Fe NM, Tim Lee- Shoqualmie WA, Russ Devries- Anchorage AK, Ryan Hickel, Steve Duby- Nulato AK, Erin Popek- Anchorage AK, Nathan Child- Snowmass CO, Mat Brunton- Anchorage AK, Shasta Hood- Anchorage AK, Alex Gould- Fairbanks AK, Eric Mundahl- Anchorage AK

Z-Rock: Paul Lafrance- Wasilla AK, Cody Landenburger- Anchorage AK, Nancy Cook-McCarthy AK, Wil Brown- Anchorage AK, Rebecca King- Eagle River AK, Khalial Withen- Anchorage AK, Zach Fields- Anchorage AK, Ingrid Eng-Anchorage AK, Marta Krynytzky- Chugiak AK

2014 Race Results

Up & Over:

1st– Killian Sump 3 hours 51 minutes (course record)

2nd– Mat Brunton 4 hours 10 minutes

3rd– Eric Mundahl 4 hours 19 minutes


1st-Paul Lafrance 1 hour 50 minutes (course record)

2nd– Cody Landenburger 2 hours 27 minutes

3rd– Wil Brown 2 hours 45 minutes

[formidable id=5]